Tuesday, October 17, 2017

100 Words and a Quote


100 Words and a Quote is a feature in which I review books in exactly 100 words and share my favorite quote from each book. It’s fun, but it can also be challenging to make what I have to say fit that count. Well, I do love a good challenge. I do this for books when I can’t give much detail for fear of spoiling, for series finales, when I need to clean up my TBR, for novellas, and for those rare times when I just don’t have much to say about a book whether I loved it or not. Hope you enjoy my take on the (extra mini) mini-review. 


Title: Nowhere but Here 
Author: Renée Carlino
Publisher: Atria Books 
Published: May 5th, 2014
Goodreads | Amazon | B&N

Summary: A Chicago reporter in her mid-twenties unexpectedly finds love in Napa Valley when she’s assigned to spend a week with a famously reclusive genius.

Kate Corbin has lost her spark. From the outside, her life seems charmed. She has a handsome, long-term boyfriend and a budding journalism career at a popular Chicago newspaper. But in reality, her relationship is going nowhere, and she’s quickly losing motivation for what she once believed was her dream job. When her boyfriend dumps her unceremoniously, Kate loses all hope of finding love.

With no living family and few friends, Kate confides in her boss. Trusting that the hungry, ace reporter is buried somewhere deep inside, he gives Kate the opportunity to jumpstart her career. The assignment: to interview the famously reclusive R.J. Lawson, a wealthy tech genius who disappeared years ago but recently reemerged as a Napa Valley vintner. The week takes an unexpected turn, however, when Lawson refuses to divulge any information. Desperate for a lead, Kate turns to Jamie, a vineyard hand who shows her the romance of wine country—and stirs her aching heart. But his connection to Lawson is ambiguous, and when Jamie disappears before the end of the week, Kate is left to investigate another story: the truth behind the man who stole her heart.

USA TODAY bestselling author Renée Carlino explored love and heartbreak in her beautifully written debut Sweet Thing, and her newest novel does not disappoint. For fans of Colleen Hoover, K.A. Tucker, and Katja Millay, Nowhere But Here is a stirring and satisfying romance that you won’t want to put down.



This book is as intoxicating as the Estate Pinot Noir, and I’m tipsy over both the story and fantastic character, Jamie. It was easy to get lost in this book and the winery as well as to relate to Kate. I was drawing definite parallels between her background and mine. I found myself getting emotional at points in the book, but it was around 50% when I went from crying to laughing over a singed eyebrow and a foot-long. I love a book that can conjure up such contrasting emotions. A must-read for Carlino fans and lovers of sweet romances.


“...hold on to each other, and never let go.” 

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ 




Title: Third Watch 
(Tracy Crosswhite, #0.5)
Author: Robert Dugoni
Publisher: Amazon 
Published: August 16th, 2015
Goodreads | Amazon 

Summary: Tracy Crosswhite’s ordinary night patrolling her Seattle beat becomes front page news when she responds to a domestic disturbance call that turns into a hostage crisis. 

In this prequel short story to Robert Dugoni’s #1 Kindle-bestselling novel, My Sister’s Grave, Tracy Crosswhite is a young patrol officer, paying her dues, keeping her head down, and hoping a solid record will get her promoted to detective. While years have passed since the disappearance of Tracy’s sister, the experience has made her one of the city’s most dedicated cops. 

Reporter Tevia Kushman is shadowing Tracy on a ride-along seeking to follow-up on a recent (and nasty) exposé about the Seattle PD’s treatment of female cops. Young and ambitious, Tevia is hoping for a juicy scoop on the gender politics of the PD, but may get a much bigger story than she bargained for… 

Neither woman expects a routine-sounding call to turn into something dangerous, until Tracy walks into a domestic dispute and finds herself looking down the barrel of a shot-gun. No stranger to high-pressure situations, Tracy must draw on more than just her academy training and lightning-fast shooting skills to find a way to talk down—or take out—the volatile man holding the gun. 



This forty-seven page short story is a prequel to my beloved Tracy Crosswhite series. This story takes place when Tracy is just a young patrol officer, years before she becomes the brilliant homicide detective she is now. It’s supposed to be a regular night of patrolling; but at 11:30 pm, only four hours into her shift, a call about a domestic disturbance takes a turn into something incredibly dangerous. The way Tracy handles everything is insight into the detective she’s going to become, and I loved getting this look back into the younger version of one of my favorite heroines.


“Veteran officers had told her that the crazies came out with the full moon, that it possessed some of them to behave in a manner they otherwise wouldn't.  It wasn't a full werewolf transformation, but personalities changed just the same.” 

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ 




Title: Tower of Dawn 
(Throne of Glass, #6)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury 
Published: September 5th, 2017
Goodreads | Amazon | B&N
Summary: In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire.

Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken.

His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica—the stronghold of the southern continent's mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them.

But what they discover in Antica will change them both—and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.



Empire of Storms was a brilliant installment in the Throne of Glass series, though there was one particular character I missed. But Tower of Dawn makes up for that absence with an incredible story, cluing us in on just what Chaol Westfall was up to during the events taking place in EoS. This story is genius and brings us fantastic new characters and a HUGE revelation! Action, suspense, and romance abound in these pages; and Chaol’s story reminds his fans just why we fell in love with this perfectly imperfect human finding his way in a world full of magic.


It was agony and despair and fear. It was joy and laughter and rest. It was life, all of it...” 

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★  

© at A Belle's Tales

  


                   

6 comments:

  1. Oh how I loved Nowhere But Here! I think thats my favorite Carlino book tbh.
    And Chaol! My sweet baby Chaol! You and I have discussed that book many times now and I am still not over the stuff we learned in that book. NEED BOOK 7 NOW!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow, these all sound good. I added book one to my wishlist!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love that quote for Third Watch! Nice. And glad to hear Tower of Dawn was good.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I think I've had Nowhere but Here on my tbr since it released. Omg, I need to read Tower of Dawn!!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I noticed that Tracy Crosswhite series is on kindle unlimited so I am hoping to give it a try really soon :D

    ReplyDelete
  6. Um, I LOVE all the word play in these mini-reviews!!! (especially the wine one!) Love these beautifully-crafted reviews (and SERIOUSLY must get on the Glass Throne series like ASAP as possible). :D

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for stopping by our blog! We don't participate in blog tags, and this is an award-free blog; but we do love making new bookish friends. Happy Reading!