Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Release Day Review: I Found You by Lisa Jewell

Title: I Found You 
Author: Lisa Jewell 
Publisher: Atria Books 
Source: Publisher 
Published: April 25th, 2017 
Purchase: Amazon | B&N 

Summary: A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic. 


This was my first Lisa Jewell book; and after reading this incredibly engrossing story, I will most assuredly be picking up more of this author’s work. I Found You is told skillfully in four parts with three narratives. The first is from Alice, whom I very much liked. Alice is a single mother of three who has made some not-so-great decisions in the not-so-distant past and is doing her best to not make any more. She supports her family by creating these brilliant art pieces that she makes out of old maps specific to places her customers request. One morning, she sees a man sitting alone on the cold, damp sand in front of her seaside home in the British town of Ridinghouse Bay; he doesn’t remember who he is or how he arrived there. And against her friend’s advice and the better judgement she wishes she possessed, Alice takes him in. The second story is of new bride Lily, whom… well, unlike Alice, I didn’t like much at all. Lily’s beloved new husband doesn’t come home from work one night; and after several interactions with the police, they discover her new groom is not who he says he is. And last but certainly not least is the account from the past. One that tells the story of teenage Gray and his sister Kirsty as they vacation with their parents in Ridinghouse Bay in 1993. When Kirsty meets a young man who is attracted to her, Gray gets a bad vibe from the guy and immediately disapproves. All three of these stories are very interesting, but when all three intersect… they are fascinating.

This is one of those books I couldn’t put down; and though I anticipated certain things, it was the details of how it all played out that had me captivated. Told in a measured pace, this mystery is exciting without being rushed. It is a standalone with an ending that may divide readers, but it worked for this reader and I appreciated that it didn’t try to follow the formula that has everyone comparing every British mystery to the certain must-read-but-will-not-be-named-here thriller that took everyone by storm. I Found You doesn’t try to be something that it’s not because it doesn’t need to be. It’s suspenseful and absorbing and manages to be both heartbreaking at times and heartwarming at others. With converging storylines that are done brilliantly and flawlessly, this is a book that will appeal to fans of both the genre and the author.

Thank you to the publisher for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. 

© at A Belle's Tales

  

16 comments:

  1. British thrillers seem to be everywhere. I have read two in the last week. I am glad that this one does not pretend to be something it is not. I like the sound of the mystery. I will keep this in mind as I am currently on a thriller kick.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love a great British thriller, and this one is no exception. Hope you'll give this a read, Heidi :)

      Delete
  2. I've been looking forward to this one ever since I saw that cover! And I read another Lisa Jewell book, The Girls in the Garden, and liked it a lot. Glad to hear this was good. I like that it doesn't try to be something it isn't, and I can't wait now to read that ending! I'm looking forward to seeing how these three tales come together.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ahh, Greg, The Girls in the Garden is the book I've had my eye on! I'm so excited to hear that you liked it. That will definitely be the next Jewell book I grab. I think that you will enjoy this one; she does an amazing job connecting the three stories :)

      Delete
  3. Ohhh I think we need a WifeyNotes for this because I wanna know the ending but I don't think this is a Teresa book. So glad you enjoyed it Wifey cakes. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's so good! I'm determined to get you reading this genre one day; and when I do, this IS going to be a Teresa book, I just know it! Lol. Thanks, lobster <3

      Delete
  4. oh dear, is this already out? I skimmed your review because I have this.. I must choke down the other ARCs i am reading to start this..or i COULD just start it. It seems you liked it, so I am excited!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, it released today, and I hope you get to it soon... or now. I vote now. Lol. I can't wait for your thoughts :)

      Delete
  5. Ooo..this sounds so good, and I have been devouring British books of late!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too, my friend! So good, and I know this is one you will love.

      Delete
  6. "though I anticipated certain things, it was the details of how it all played out that had me captivated"

    THAT is the important part. I've read lots of books that are even predictable, but the delivery is what made it great. This looks like an awesome story.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! When you read as many thrillers as you and I do, it can be hard to surprise us; but a book doesn't have to shock us to be great. The delivery in this story is so well done, and I believe it's one you will appreciate.

      Delete
  7. This sounds riveting! I can't wait to read it. I have never heard of it before- but your review and the synopsis pulled me right in. Thanks for sharing. :)
    ~Jess

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Aw, thank you, Jess! I think you will really enjoy this one, and I'd love to know your thoughts on it whenever you get the chance to read it :)

      Delete
  8. OMG, Michele!! What a GREAT review!! I LOVE how beautifully you've written it!

    You know, this is not my usual type of novel, but you've made it sound SO fascinating!! Now I want to plunge into this very unusual story! Heck, I'm already interested in these characters, and want to know more about them!!

    Thanks for reviewing this book without giving much away, and yet, getting me hooked on finding out more! I'm heading over to Goodreads now to add this intriguing read!! SUPER SMOOOOOOOOOOSHY TACKLE HUGS!!!! <3 <3 <3 :) :) :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wow, that is so sweet!! Thank you, Maria! I'm thrilled that you are going to take a chance on this one; I know this isn't your normal genre. I loved it so much, and I really look forward to hearing your thoughts! Happy reading *super SMOOSHY tackle hugs* <3 <3 <3

      Delete

Thank you for stopping by our blog! We don't participate in blog tags, and this is an award-free blog; but we do love making new bookish friends. Happy Reading!