Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Release Day Review: Missing, Presumed by Susie Steiner

Title: Missing, Presumed 
Author: Susie Steiner 
Publisher: Random House 
Source: Publisher 
Published: June 28th, 2016 
Purchase: Amazon  |  B&N 

Summary: For readers of Kate Atkinson and Tana French comes a page-turning literary mystery that brings to life the complex and wholly relatable Manon Bradshaw, a strong-willed detective assigned to a high-risk missing persons case.

At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep—and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene.

Edith Hind—a beautiful graduate student at Cambridge University and daughter of the surgeon to the Royal Family—has been reported missing for nearly twenty-four hours. Her home offers few clues: a smattering of blood in the kitchen, her keys and phone left behind, the front door ajar but showing no signs of forced entry. Manon instantly knows this case will be big—and that every second is crucial to finding Edith alive.

The investigation starts with Edith’s loved ones: her attentive boyfriend, her reserved best friend, and her patrician parents. As the search widens and press coverage reaches a frenzied pitch, secrets begin to emerge about Edith’s tangled love life and her erratic behavior leading up to her disappearance. With no clear leads, Manon summons every last bit of her skill and intuition to close the case, and what she discovers will have shocking consequences not just for Edith’s family, but for Manon herself.

Suspenseful and keenly observed, Missing, Presumed is a brilliantly twisting novel of how we seek connection, grant forgiveness, and reveal the truth about who we are. 


Photobucket



I very much enjoyed this British literary mystery! When Cambridge University graduate Edith Hind goes missing, Detective Sergeant Manon Bradshaw is on the case. As Manon and her fellow investigators examine the evidence as well as Edith’s prominent family, secrets begin to surface and it soon becomes clear that Edith’s friends and family may not have known her quite as well as they thought they did.

Going into this book, I expected the mystery to be the main focus, but the star of the story was actually Manon herself; and as I came to know her, I was quite alright with that actuality. Searching not only for a missing girl but also for love, DS Manon Bradshaw, God help her, is a bit of a hot mess – and I kind of love her for it. She struggles with her demanding career, internet dating, and her estranged family, all set to the deafening rhythm of her ticking biological clock. Though her personal life is in disarray, she’s still a brilliant detective, and I never thought for a minute that she wouldn’t crack this case. There are some heartbreaking moments in this story, but I was most surprised by the laugh-out-loud lines thanks to Manon’s hilarious inner dialogue and analogies. British slang is always fun for this southerner; it’ll be weeks before I stop saying ‘bins,’ ‘telly,’ ‘bloody,’ and ‘bollocks.’

There’s a slew of very interesting characters in the police department as well as out, my favorites being Davy, Bryony, Harriet, and Fly. While this is a great stand-alone, these characters are so well fleshed-out that I would really love to see this book become a series as I cannot imagine not revisiting them time and time again.

Remarkable writing with plausible twists and turns and interesting police procedurals. Highly recommend for fans of British literature/literary mysteries. I will certainly be reading more from this author. 

A huge thank-you to the publisher for sending this book in exchange for my honest review. 
  
© at A Belle's Tales

  

4 comments:

  1. You are gobbling up those mysteries and I love how much you are loving them. I have a gigantic list for when I need a mystery read now lol. Awesome review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous6/29/2016

    Awesome review!! I'm adding this one to my tbr for sure :) -Jamie

    ReplyDelete
  3. I do quite enjoy a literary mystery! Lovely review, Michele! x

    James

    ReplyDelete
  4. You and your mysteries! Glad you really enjoyed this and the characters. Mysteries aren't really my favorite, but your reviews always leave me so curious!

    *HUGGLES* Remember, you are amazing.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for stopping by our blog! We don't participate in blog tags, and this is an award-free blog; but we do love making new bookish friends. Happy Reading!