Monday, August 17, 2015

Early Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Title: The Boy Most Likely To
Author: Huntley Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Dial Books
Exp Release: August 18, 2015
Pre-order: Amazon  |  B&N

Summary:
Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

Photobucket



Ever since I finished reading My Life Next Door, I’ve mourned the absence of the Garretts. That loveable, boisterous family is addictive! I was so excited for Tim and Alice’s story in The Boy Most Likely To and definitely looking forward to more entertaining exchanges between the Garrett kids. This book picks up where we left off and treats the reader to the dual POVs of Tim and Alice. I love Alice – it’s so fun being inside her head. Her loyalty to her family and all that ferocity in such a small package makes her so easy to admire. Her bond with Jase is beautiful, and this moment especially touched my heart:

“But Jase and I have been tight ever since Dad drove Joel and me to the hospital to pick up Mom and the newborn Jase for the first time. In an attempt to stave off jealousy, as the story goes, she put him in my arms and said, ‘Here’s your baby.’ I believed her.”

Alice has a plate full with school, pitching in to take care of her family, and being consumed with worry for her dad. Can she really take on Tim Mason and all his problems, too?

Tim. Oh, Tim. I’ve been smitten with him since the first book – even before he got his act together – and more so now that he’s trying to turn over a new leaf. It’s easy to forgive all his transgressions, and you can’t help but feel compassion for the guy when you get a closer look inside his family dynamics. I want to hug him while I smack his folks. Never has it rang truer than here that you don’t have to share DNA to find family. The Garretts are so good for Tim, but what about those not-so-familial feelings he has for oldest daughter Alice? When Tim gets the most unexpected kind of news, will his recovery be short-lived? Or has he finally found someone that pushes him to be the man he didn’t know he could be?

I was so pleased that this story started where it did, providing closure on things that transpired in the first book. And I also loved that even with the much loved characters from book one, this is still Tim and Alice’s story. The writing is captivating and entertaining, full of so many heart-warming moments. I can never get enough of little George, and his anxiety makes me want to give him all the snuggles… but baby Patsy was the scene stealer in this book. That kid cracks me up! Her love for her ’Hon’ was precious.

“Not only has the baby escaped her crib, she’s also peeled off her clothes, and her diaper. She must have gone looking for me in my room, opened my closet to find the overflowing wicker basket I keep there. Stark naked, except for one of my black thongs dangling from her neck, a flowered push-up bra draped across her pale little chest like a Miss America sash, and a bright red lacy garter belt perched in her fluffy hair like a tiara, hanging across one big brown eye. … Tim scoops her up. ‘You, Patricia Garrett, are my kind of girl.’”

This is an amazing companion novel to My Life Next Door, and I don’t ever want this series to end. Tim Mason may have been voted “The Boy Most Likely To need a liver transplant, find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, drive his car into a house,” etc. But he’s also The Boy Most Likely To prove them all wrong… and The Boy Most Likely To win your heart.

My Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 


I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. 

My Life Next DoorThe Boy Most Likely To

© at A Belle's Tales

  

11 comments:

  1. Fabulous review! Tim sounds like my kind of guy. I need to grab this series; I've heard nothing but high praise for it. That bit with the baby sounds adorable!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you! You'll love this -- it's so much fun, and this family is addictive!!

      Delete
  2. Another wonderful review, Michele! I adored My Life Next Door, so I know I have to read this one! I miss the Garretts as well. Such an exciting family. I'm glad to read you enjoyed Tim and Alice's story! And that the book was such a great installment to the series. :D

    I will read this one! haha!

    <3 you!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Magen! I need you to read this so we can gush over it! lol You're going to adore this companion! Thank you, sweets! Love YOU! xoxoxo

      Delete
  3. Awesome review! Just pre ordered!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Eeeep! That makes me so happy!

      Delete
  4. omg those quotes! That sold me on this book for sure!! I love the first book and I love this review :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This book is so completely quotable -- it was hard to choose! lol If you loved the first, you'll definitely adore this story. Thank you for stopping by :)

      Delete
  5. Lovely review Michele, I would like to try this series. *eyes tbr pile*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you so much, Kimba! Please, please, oh PLEASE make time for this one -- I know you will love it, and you will laugh out loud over George and Patsy's scenes. It's just the sweetest series! *hugs*

      Delete
  6. I neeeeeds to read this one! GAHHHH stop making me excited for things I dont have time for! Also "Tim Mason may have been voted “The Boy Most Likely To need a liver transplant, find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, drive his car into a house,” etc. But he’s also The Boy Most Likely To prove them all wrong… and The Boy Most Likely To win your heart." that needs to be blurbed somewhere cause its perfection. Love you!

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for stopping by our blog! We don't participate in blog tags, and this is an award-free blog; but we do love making new bookish friends. Happy Reading!