Monday, November 4, 2013

November Novellas #4: Review: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan


It’s that time of year again! I absolutely adore novellas, short stories, and anthologies! They are fun and fast reads, and some are very easy on the pocketbook if not FREE. Some are essential to the series, some are great for catch-up between novels, and some… well, some will have you scratching your head wondering, “What’s the point in this?” as well as questioning the hefty price! This month, I’m going to be bringing you some novella and short story deals and steals as well as highlighting my favorites and letting you know which ones to grab up and which ones you might want to pass up. I’ll have spotlights, reviews, guest reviews, and giveaways.


Title: What Really Happened in Peru
(The Bane Chronicles)
Authors: Cassandra Clare, 
Sarah Rees Brennan
Publisher: Margaret K McElderry
Published: April 16, 2013
Purchase:  Amazon  |  B&N

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.

This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.

Photobucket

postdivider2

"'I can't get enough adventure,' Magnus said lightly.
'And adventure cannot get enough of me.'"

Oh, Magnus Bane-- how do I love thee?  Let me count the ways.  While Magnus was at his most eccentric in the pages of this short story and I did enjoy seeing what trouble he was getting into from the 1790's all the way up to the 1960's, this just didn't blow me away. Still, I couldn't help but laugh at several Magnus moments...

"Magnus you were trying to flirt with your own plate."

... but I had a fair share of groans, too.  Ragnor Fell was humorous and reminded me very much of Eeyore with his grumpy contributions.  While some parts were enjoyable (it is Magnus Bane, after all), for the most part, it was just silly.  I also don't care for the misleading title and synopsis.  If you're dying to know what really happened in Peru that led to Magnus's banishment -- you're not going to find out here. This book is the first of ten, and I'm hoping these short stories about my beloved warlock get more intriguing as they go along.

"Magnus had a list of favored traits in a partner -- 
black hair, blue eyes, honest -- 
but in this case what drew him in was an individual response to life."

Bottom Line:  Pass. $2.99 is too pricey for roughly 60 pages, and this one just didn't live up to the brilliance that I know these two authors possess.
  My Rating: 1/2

chelesiggy

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for stopping by our blog! We don't participate in blog tags, and this is an award-free blog; but we do love making new bookish friends. Happy Reading!